The Family WEIRD!
Dec. 28th, 2005 12:38 amI saw The Family Stone tonight.
I'm sorry Sev, but it was horrible! Unbelievably predictable and left a lot of questions unanswered.
The only good plot line in the movie was Diane Keaton's. It was emotional the way all her kids loved her and how they dealt with the news that she was dying.
Rachel McAdams' character was comical, the bitchy sister and I did like her part in the movie. I also liked the dad, Kelly's part. He was the most level headed of the bunch but still got angry when Meredith criticized his wife and kids.
Whoever wrote the script for the movie was cruel. Sarah Jessica Parker, "Meredith", was portrayed as the biggest bitch who didn't know a thing about what she was saying.
My biggest problem with the entire movie was, why of all people did Meredith have to fall for Ben AND Everett have to fall for Julie?? I'm totally put off by that, sisters marrying brothers thing. And the writers didn't even try to surprise you, the second Everett met Julie he had a stupid lovestruck look about him. And Meredith coming down the stairs making a grand entrance when Ben arrived. I'm puking a little bit right now because of the predictability of it all!!
Not only that, but I thought it was supposed to be a comedy based on the commercials and even though I knew there was a twist to it it wasn't a good twist. There could have been a lot of possible plot bunnies in the movie (like with Susannah's husband-all that speculation about him coming on Christmas morning and then he just came? I know he was supposed to join them, but why did they make such a big deal about it?!)
Sorry if you liked it, but I didn't.
no subject
Date: 2005-12-28 09:06 am (UTC)